Six Secrets with author Kath McGurl!

Kath

It’s great to have the lovely Kath McGurl on Pink Ink today. Here she shares six things that no one else knows about her!

  1. I once cycled from John O’Groats to Land’s End, carrying camping gear on the back of my bike. We took the long route through Scotland – across the north coast and down the west coast. It took 20 days, and rained on 17 out of the 20.
  2. I love old books. When I retire I plan to spend my days rooting around car boot sales and second hand bookshops, buying anything printed before 1900, especially if it has something handwritten on the fly-leaf. And yes, of course I love to sniff them too.
  3. I am absolutely rubbish at painting and drawing, but another retirement plan is to go to art classes and then spend time painting the line of beach huts down the road from us at Hengistbury Head. I’ve no desire to paint any other scenes – just that one.
  4. I love mountains, almost more than anything else in the world (except my family of course!) The Lake District feels like my spiritual home. I’ve also climbed in Wales, Scotland, the Alps and the Himalaya.
  5. I am fascinated by social history, and the ways in which the past influences the present. Everywhere I go I pick up inspiration for future dual-timeline novels. I have too many ideas and not enough time to write them all!
  6. In my day job I work in IT, and I still think Cobol is a pretty neat programming language. I may also be one of the few remaining users of the language Easytrieve Plus, which makes me one hundred percent dinosaur, but I don’t care because I love it.

Kath PL

Kathleen McGurl lives near the sea in Bournemouth, with her husband, sons and cats. She began her writing career creating short stories, and sold dozens to women’s magazines in the UK and Australia. Then she got side-tracked onto family history research – which led eventually to writing novels with genealogy themes. She has always been fascinated by the past, and the ways in which the past can influence the present., and enjoys exploring these links in her novels.

When not writing or working at her full-time job in IT, she likes to go out running or sea-swimming, both of which she does rather slowly. She is definitely quicker at writing.

You can find out more at her website, http://kathleenmcgurl.com/

Pearl Locket http://www.amazon.co.uk/The-Pearl-Locket-Kathleen-McGurl-ebook/dp/B00P1G6KHU

Twitter https://twitter.com/KathMcGurl

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/KathleenMcGurl

2 thoughts on “Six Secrets with author Kath McGurl!

Leave a Reply

