The One With All The Proof Copies

First of all, hi! My name’s Lynsey and this is my first post for Pink Ink. I write romantic comedies for HQ Digital (HarperCollins) and I love Matthew Gray Gubler, dogs and red velvet cake. I also love Friends, as you can probably tell from the style of my post title. Anyway, something rather awesome happened today that I’d like to share with you all, along with something not a lot of people know about me. So here goes…

 

Today was a pretty momentous day. After three years, five books and countless thousands of words, I received bound proof copies of my fifth book THE SUMMER OF HOPES AND DREAMS. For an author, this is a pretty huge milestone. This book, as with my four previous ones, is only available digitally so to have an actual physical copy means everything. It also meant my gran could read one of my books for the first time *sniff*. She can’t work a Kindle (believe me, we’ve tried) so to see her looking at something I’ve written today was a really special moment. I’m going to keep a copy for myself and give one to my mum, gran and best friend Jen. Physical copies have also gone out to some of my favourite authors, including Pink Ink’s very own Portia Macintosh (who wouldn’t love her right?)

I’ve had so many lovely messages and comments from a bunch of awesome people, and it’s made me think about a lot of things. Mainly that I dropped out of school nearly a decade ago with one aim in life: to write books and have them published. Not a lot of people know that about me. I was seventeen and had just started my final year of high school, but I wasn’t happy. I was bored and just wanted to be out in the world, chasing my dreams. So after speaking to my mum, I got my Leaver’s Form and went round to get it signed. When the teachers asked what I was going to do, I replied ‘I’m going to write books’. Some raised their eyebrows, some said ‘come on Lynsey, are you sure about this? Stay on and do your Advanced Highers so you can go to university.’ Only my English teacher wished me luck and asked me to send her a copy of my first book. Unfortunately, she retired before I could follow through on it!

It took another six years for the email saying ‘we’d love to publish your book…’ to pop into my inbox. In that time, I had a lot of “have I done the right thing?” moments. Particularly when the rejection emails could’ve papered my bedroom wall, while my classmates were starting graduate jobs and buying houses. There were times where I felt like I’d thrown away a potential future to chase a dream that would always be that little bit out of reach. Yet I couldn’t quite let it go. Writing and creating stories has always felt like magic to me, my way of making sense of the world. So I kept going, because I couldn’t not write. I pushed on through six years of ‘thanks but no thanks’ emails and every moment of self-doubt. And well, here I am. Five books and one amazing agent later, I’m literally living my dream. It’s stressful at times, but I wouldn’t want to do anything else. And I still can’t quite believe it happened to me. I’ve come a long way from the seventeen-year-old who left school. The main things I’ve learnt are to believe in yourself, never give up and dream big. 

If you have a story inside you, tell it. You won’t regret it.

2 thoughts on “The One With All The Proof Copies

  1. Yayyy I love your proof copies! They look wonderful and I can’t wait to receive mine! This is going to be a stonker, I can feel it 😉 immensely proud of you! xxx

    1. Thank you so much! I’m really proud of this book, and I hope people love Cleo as much as I do. You will receive your copy very, very soon! xxx

Leave a Reply

