#BOOKREVIEW – Laura Lake and the Hipster Weddings – @Wendy_Holden @HoZ_Books #amreading

33699163Wendy Holden’s Laura Lake and the Hipster Weddings is a fabulous laugh-out-loud romp of a story. I thoroughly enjoyed reading it and look forward to the next book in The Laura Lake series.

At times, as Laura Lake lurches from one escapade to the next, I felt that I was holding my breath! Thank goodness for the dashing reporter Harry Scott, who has impeccable timing! 😉 I must admit though, I do not want to try their version of rose wine…

Laura is an adorable character and I just wanted her to succeed in following her dreams. She’s so sweet, determined and adaptable. The other characters are also deliciously described, from Laura’s French grandmother Mimi – with her fascinating advice about everything from fashion to positive mental attitude – to her new eccentric and fashionable friend, Lulu. Yes, there are some stereotypes, but that’s part of the fun and displays Ms Holden’s wit and sparkly sense of humour.

The book also made me long to visit Paris because of the beautiful moving descriptions that seemed to come right from Laura’s (and possibly Ms Holden’s) heart.

The three weddings are delightful and provide some very funny moments. My favourite was at the castle and involved naked flames and eyebrows. I’ll let you read it to find out what happens but it made me chuckle.

Read this novel for pure giggle-a-minute escapism with a deep and sweet underlying warmth.

FIVE FABULOUS STARS

*****

Links:

AMAZON UK

AMAZON.COM

WENDY HOLDEN

Leave a Reply

